Take the 2-minute tour ×
Drupal Answers is a question and answer site for Drupal developers and administrators. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I want to make a frozen copy of a drupal site (D6) and prevent users from making any changes whatsoever (except for the system adminstrator, if possible). How can I do that? I want to keep the usernames.

Hiding the login block is easy, but the login url is still available. I've tried disabling all passwords by setting the hash to 'x', but still, someone could recover access via email, and login. So, I want to prevent password recovery too. I could alter all email addresses to something invalid, such as {uid}@example.com. But I don't want the system to even attempt to send email to these addresses.

The site is used for a yearly campaign/contest. I want to keep results of previous contests online, for reference, at a different url, and I don't want anybody changing anything. Ideally, I would structure the site so it keeps previous contest results in the same database, but that requires extensive changes which I don't have the time to do.

share|improve this question
2  
but the login url is still available ...yeah, that's kind of important - how else are you going to log in to administer it? –  Clive Apr 23 at 13:04
    
You can redirect non admin users back to the homepage.. –  rreiss Apr 23 at 13:16
    
Why do you want to block the login in the first place? Wouldn’t it be sufficient to remove all edit rights from users but still allow them to login? –  unor Apr 23 at 18:58
    
I want to block login as a safeguard to avoid changes, and to avoid confusing users who may think they are using the real site. This is a snapshot in time of the real website. I don't want users to be confused about which website they're logged-in. –  user13097 Apr 24 at 21:47
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 4 down vote accepted
  1. Disable all user accounts apart from admin.
  2. Disable new users from registering new accounts.
  3. Edit permissions as necessary.

Now only admin can login, and anonymous users won't have permission to edit anything.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Simply block all the user except the user #1.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks, this is what I missed, but the previous answer was first and it describes the whole procedure. –  user13097 Apr 23 at 13:38
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.