2

I have a fairly good understanding of the way that features works:

  • Make changes to your test site.
  • Create a feature which contains the changes.
  • Copy the new module (which was created by features) to live.
  • activate the new module.
  • Verify that the changes now exist on the live site.

This works great, but is there a way to take the changes that are contained in the new feature module and move them into the live database? My goal is to reduce the number of active modules I have on my live site.

1

Once the module generated by Features has been activated and the status on the overview page reads "Default" the changes are in the database. "Default" means that the database configuration matches the configuration defined in the module. (The status "overridden" indicates that the module generated by Features does not match the database configuration.

I think what you want to ask is, "How can I disable a Feature-generated module without losing the configuration that it provided?", which has been asked on this site before.

  • When you activate a feature module, are the changes contained in that feature module added to the database? If so, then are those changes reverted when you deactivate a feature? – Hoytman Apr 9 '14 at 13:09
  • "When you activate a feature module, are the changes contained in that feature module added to the database?" Yes. "are those changes reverted when you deactivate a feature?" Yes. From the documentation "By design, disabling the feature module is supposed to also disable all the functionality that was defined by it. That is, remove node types that were created by it, etc." – Adam Balsam Apr 9 '14 at 13:30
  • I obviously did not dig into the documentation that deeply. I assumed that changes were implemented via code on each page load. – Hoytman Apr 9 '14 at 13:32
  • Common misunderstanding in my experience. – Adam Balsam Apr 9 '14 at 13:33
  • Just wondering: With the changes pushed to the database, is there a chance that another process could change the features' changes (Which might cause problems when you revert or update you feature?) – Hoytman Apr 9 '14 at 13:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.