Yesterday, I posted a proposal for clarifying the procedure for updating core. But now I find that I messed up in doing my update and I'm not sure how to do it right the next time.
I have a set of Views templates under the Bartik theme. They are in the folder:
In the update procedure, this folder is deleted along with the rest of the old core.
I was able to easily restore the views folder from the backup, but I'd like to not have to do that in the future.
Generally, it seems like a bad idea to put custom content in a core folder, but it seems that Views needs the template folder to be under the theme it applies to.
Is there a way to put that views folder under the sites folder or somewhere else outside of the core structure so it won't get deleted when I do an update?
Thanks for your help.