After creating users with a picture programmatically, and deleting them afterwards, I found out that the pictures (files) were not removed.
I started digging into this problem and found out that this problem also occurs when just adding a user by the UI, uploading a picture and deleting the user.
The picture is not being removed. Also the file remains in the file_usage and in the file_managed tables. They're not marked for deletion, so I guess they will stay there forever. Is this a bug? Or am I missing something?