I have seem multiple update tutorials tell you to disable all non core modules before doing an update. What is the reason for this? I'm not real familiar with the update area of core but can't see any real good reason. Is there something major I am risking if I don't do this?
I can understand the reasoning if we are doing an update between major versions (6 -> 7). But when doing a minor update (7.10 -> 7.12) is where I have my question.