I'm trying to remove a Workflow instance from a Feature. But every time I uncheck the workflow and recreate the feature, the workflow gets deleted.
Now I know that with Views, Panels and other entities, all you have to do is to edit it, and it will be shown as overwritten (meaning it is using the database instead of code from the feature), and you can then safely remove it from the feature.
If I edit and save the workflow, it gives me a Revert link in the workflow menu. Yet if I then remove it from the feature, the workflow still gets deleted.
I've tried exporting the workflow and re-import it after removing, but then is just added with a new id (WID), which opens another can of worms on my site.
When I edit and save the workflow, I see in the workflow table in the db that the exportable status change from 2 to 3. I don't know what all the allowable statuses are. But this might be something to look into.