In the docs for the State API, the term 'reset' is used, without any reference as to what a reset is:
use State API to store transient information, that is okay to lose after a reset.
I've spent a significant amount of time digging through the back-end implementation of the State API, looking at the database tables, and testing writing values, and as far as I can tell, the state data is never removed. So I'm thinking that by a 'reset', they mean wiping the entire DB, re-installing Drupal, then importing all the config.
I'm just looking for other confirmation before I update the doc page with a clearer explanation. Can anyone confirm that my theory on what a 'reset' is, is correct? And if it's not, can anyone explain what a 'reset' is?