When I break my site I create a new one from a backup and give it a different name from the original, for example:
I do a fresh install of drupal and call the site 'mysite' then a week later I break it. I then restore a backup and call it 'mysiteRevA' when this one breaks I use a backup of 'mysiteRevA' and create 'mysiteRevB' and so on. I'm not very good at fixing errors so I do this a lot!
The issue is that say I'm working on 'mysiteRevC',if I look in the sites folder there are folders called 'mysite' and 'mysiteRevA' and 'mysiteRevB' and 'mysiteRevC' reflecting all the restorations I have done. My first question is how can I remove these additional folders and question 2 is what should I do to avoid this in the future.
It might be that every restore has to use the original name, but wouldn't this mean overwriting the original site? I don't want to do this because I worry that if the restore doesn't work and I've deleted the original I'll have lost everything.