I've noticed something strange on my site: after attaching a file to a node (via the regular file field), that file never gets deleted from the server. I remove it from the node, save that change, but I can see the file is still on the server.
This makes replacing files very difficult, because when a user tries to attach a replacement, the file name has the "_0" or "_1" suffixed to it (since the original file is still on the server and that makes the name a duplicate). That means that we would need to find all links to the file and edit each one to match the new file name/url. It's a total mess.
I'm looking online and nobody seems to have this issue -- the files ought to be deleted from the server once they're removed from the node.
Any ideas why this may be happening in my case? I'm not sure where to start looking. Certainly the 'File system' configuration page has nothing of that nature as an option that may have been checked. And the field options themselves seem to not have anything of that nature I may have inadvertently set. Any other ideas?