1

If I update my Drupal 7 Production site (20 user accounts) from my Development site (1 admin user account) will I lose all the user accounts in Production?

I'm just going to transfer the files and export/import the database from Development to Production.

2

will I lose all the user accounts in Production?

Depends. If you replace the 'users' table, then yes, you will lose the accounts. You can use the Feeds module to easily import your users. That way you aren't overwriting the table itself.

Either way, backup, backup, backup!

  • Thanks, well I use the Backup and Migrate module and I figured it would replace everything. I cannot select tables to exclude. Could I use phpMyadmin and restore everything except the 'users table'? – John Feb 1 '13 at 20:34
  • I guess I could just export all DB tables except 'users' and 'user_roles' from DEV using phpMyAdmin and then Import only those tables into PROD? – John Feb 1 '13 at 20:39
  • Ah, Backup & Migrate DOES have the ability to Exclude specific tables...sweet! But as you said backup, backup, backup! – John Feb 1 '13 at 20:48
1

You could also use phpmyadmin to export the users & users_roles tables from the production database and import them into the development database, then you can do your update as usual.

Note: I'm assuming there is no risk to any other data referencing uid since you are replacing everything else.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.