I'm using Drupal 7. On my site, users can add pictures via a content type, Pictures, that makes use of the core image field.
If a user uploads an image file and saves the node, then if the node is deleted the image file will be deleted as well.
However, if a user uploads an image file and then leaves the page, the image file remains stored in the filesystem and is not deleted. This means that if users are careless, it is possible for them to add lots of pictures that will never be seen and never be deleted, wasting lots of disk space.
Is there any way to automatically delete these "orphan" files?