I want to be able to moderate authors who create new nodes, but allow authors to update their existing nodes without moderation. It's not immediately obvious to me how to do this in Workbench.

It seems like I should be able to set up a Rule that will basically have

Event: After updating existing content

Condition: Content's current moderation state is published

Reaction: Set moderation state during save: Published

Something like that. I've tried a lot of combinations, but I can't get it to work.

Also, every time an author saves, it saves as a Draft, which I almost never want. Even though the Default State is set to Needs Review that only applies to new nodes. Revisions of existing nodes are always saved as drafts.

So ideally what I'm trying achieve is this

  • new nodes default to Needs Review
  • revisions of existing nodes default to Publised
  • This may just be a limitation of the workbench moderation module: drupal.org/node/1408858
    – ergophobe
    Oct 6, 2013 at 2:16
  • Another related issue: drupal.org/node/1147646
    – ergophobe
    Oct 6, 2013 at 2:43
  • The basic problem seems to be that the Workbench module is hardcoded to save new revisions as drafts, so the default state only works on a node creation. Still, it seems like I should be able to do something with Rules that would push it to the states I need in spite of the defaults.
    – ergophobe
    Oct 6, 2013 at 2:46
  • thank you, I searched for this answer for a lot of time!!
    – slowbanned
    Feb 1, 2014 at 23:28
  • I need the same thing but could not find any solution
    – Iqbal
    Jan 9, 2018 at 15:31

1 Answer 1


This is sort of bizarre and I'd love to hear other answers, but after much trial and error with Rules, it turns out this seems to work with the following setup:

Event: After updating existing content [so it's not a new node]

Condition: Content is published [so admin has approved it at least once]

Reaction: 1. Publish Content 2. Set moderation state during save: Published

I would have thought that either #1 or #2 would have been sufficient, but strangely if they are not combined, it always reverts to draft. Also strange, the order doesn't seem to matter. I've had it working #1 then #2 and #2 then #1.

  • i have both #1 and #2 but it always go to draft(current)?
    – Iqbal
    Jan 10, 2018 at 6:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.